10% Battery Life

I recently saw Big Hero 6 with my daughter at her school’s movie night.  It was awesome.  The main character’s older brother was an incredibly gifted designer and built a relentless, multi-functional, adaptive, and engaging robot whose only barrier preventing his unceasing efforts to complete his mission was – limited battery life.  Without his batteries fully charged his performance radically deteriorated and when his batteries died, well, so did he.  That is, until he plugged into his charging station and got replenished and refueled.

A pedestrian analogy, perhaps, but man, I know how that robot feels.  My hope is that as a development professional I am indeed relentless, multi-functional, adaptive and engaging as I unceasingly pursue cultivating supportive relationships for my agency.  And there is no doubt, when my batteries are low I’m a hot mess and when I’m done, I’m done.

There is a lot of leadership and management speak about self-care and getting unplugged, refreshed, and refueled.  But I wonder how many folks are actually doing that?  I mean, there is always urgency in the fundraising game and getting our batteries charged just doesn’t always seem like a priority.

Folks, we have to make it one, because no one is going to make us take a break.

I’ve committed to taking at a minimum, every Saturday, to completely disconnect from work and do something that I enjoy.  Something that fills me up.  I have found that it takes discipline and determination because if i’m not ‘on,’ I don’t feel quite myself.  Kinda like a robot and not in a good way.

Let’s get rest, get recharged, walk in the sun, watch a good show, work out, try something new.  The supporters, calls, emails, prospects, and priorities will be there when we get back.  And, we’ll be in much better shape to get after them.

What are you doing to recharge your batteries?  Join the conversation at @infosmallchange #ascblog

Leave a Reply

