But you said you were going to give!?

Ok.  This is a real time situation.  Happening now.  I’ve got 4 or 5 folks that I’ve been building relationships with and over email and in person they have committed to giving a gift to the agency I have the privilege of representing.  We’ve had some great interactions, they are supportive of the mission and aiming to respond by investing financially.  Awesome stuff.

But, here’s the thing, it’s been weeks and in a few cases months since these commitment were made and well, no gift yet.  No meat in the pan so to speak.  I’ve sent a few reminders but find myself becoming resigned to the reality that maybe they won’t be giving after all.  But, if that’s the case, why did they say they would?  And, do I throw in the towel here?

A few things I’m reminding myself of today:

  1. People are super busy.  These gifts are important to me, and hopefully important to them, but may low on the list of priorities.  Taking the time to literally write the check or go online to give might be a challenge or ‘just one more thing to do and I’ll get to it next week.’
  2. Financial changes occur.  Cash on hand or anticipated household revenue may decrease rendering folks less inclined and less able to give, and, donors who have verbally committed a gift may not be excited about telling me this.  I totally get that.
  3. They might have legitimately forgotten.

The other reality is that as a relationship manager and ‘development guy’ I can take responsibility for letting them off the hook so to speak and simply asking whether they are still able to give.  ‘Hey really appreciate your commitment to giving, just wanted to check in and see if that was still something you’d like to move forward with?’  Nip it in the bud perhaps.

Would love to hear how you respond to lagging gifts?   Join the conversation at @infosmallchange #ascblog

Leave a Reply

