Colored Shirts

There’s no doubt about it, color makes everything more fun. Would you rather sit in a dark and colorless room or a well lit one with a vibrant painting?  We are all drawn to color.

Color also makes you more noticeable. I am so glad that we are moving away from a culture where men can where only grey and blue. You watch a show like Mad Men and the only difference in their suits is the cost, the color schemes are all the same.

I’ve always enjoyed wearing colors because again, its just more fun. But, there is some practical value here also as color is more memorable for donor meetings. You will remember the donor rep you met with who was wearing a red shirt over the donor rep who’s wearing a grey or blue. What about at an event? You want to be picked out in a crowd and easy to find.

Don’t get me wrong I still wear greys and blues. But it can be fun to mix it up a little bit. Our female counterparts figured this out a long time ago and have been doing it for a long time.

But let’s not stop at color. I try and think about who I’m meeting with and dress accordingly. Sometimes a tie or a suit jacket just isn’t the right thing to wear. I spend a lot of time with IT professionals wearing jeans and a t-shirt to work. When I wear a tie to those meetings it makes them feel awkward.  So, I’m thinking about what I wear because it can add some value.

What do you think? What do you wear to supporter or prospect meetings? Have you noticed color?

Join the conversation at @infosmallchange #ascblog

Leave a Reply

