Question: Objections?

Each organization seems to have the classic question with which it has to deal. At a community college it was, “Why should I give you money when you are a government funded organization?” I imagine a number of government related organizations and advocacy groups get the, “I pay my taxes isn’t that enough speech.” Or, an arts organization might hear, “I like to give to social services for feeding and clothing people.”

What kinds of objections do you have at your organization? What responses and techniques have you used to overcome them?

9 Responses to Question: Objections?

  1. I’ve heard the objection about wanting to give to social services rather than arts programs and I usually respond with a personal story of how I grew up as a latchkey kid in the inner city where there was a lot of violence. Once a week, a teacher would come to our class to teach us folksongs, how to play the autoharp, or she would play classical music for us. These visits gave me a sense of a wider world and hope that I could one day be part of it. I ask that people consider that there is more to living than just surviving.

  2. Jason Dick says:

    Robyn, great comment. I love the idea of responding to an objection with a personal story. And I love your personal story, too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. We sometimes come up against the objection that by giving to us, it’s just a gift to Columbia University – how can they be sure that it really is going only to children with cancer? We explain that we our grants to Columbia are placed in a special fund which is only controlled by the director and administrator of Pediatric Oncology. If the donation is directed to a particular area, the funds go into the account that is used only for that. Just being completely transparent seems to work the best. In fact, this issue concerned some of our board members so we had the administrator join us at a board meeting to describe the process.

  4. We are putting together an end-of-year appeal to our alumni and donors and wanted to solicit our field staff (not working for us now, though most work for us spring-fall.) We’ve asked the finance department for addresses for the mailers.

    Our finance person has hesitated because she believes that any and all information they hold in this department is considered confidential, and she is uncomfortable with the request to provide employee’s (either past or present) home addresses to others, without the employee’s prior consent.

    To this I suggested that we provide finance with the fundraising pieces and that finance affix the employee address labels in their room and mail them from that room without non-finance staff seeing them or keeping records of these addresses. So that confidentiality would be maintained.

    Are there any rules or guidelines we need to be aware of – surely we’re not the first non-profit sending out a mailing to our own staff.

    Thanks!

  5. Jason Dick says:

    I believe the regulations really depend on the organization. With employee campaigns I’ve done we often intraoffice mail the letters. But I’ve used home addresses provided by HR before. Anyone else?

  6. Hi Jason, fantastic blog. I’m the captain of the equestrian team at my school, and we get very, very little funding from the college, so we try to do a lot of fundraising. Recently, an incoming student wanted to donate her horse to the team, which would require a massive amount of planning, support, and legal talk with the schools. Basically, they asked “why don’t you just sell it and donate the money to the team?” The same has happened when donors try to give property (a cabin on the nearest mountain for the outdoor/hiking club, for one, and a sailboat for the sailing club). It’s amazing that opportunities are being turned down for fear of liability, when the organizations could easily benefit from the original donation. I know this isn’t quite the same as non-profits, but the discussion had me nodding my head. Welcome to the Livefyre community, and please feel free to let us know if you have any questions or feedback for us.

  7. myhealth says:

    When I was in college I was one of the officers in our student organization, when our President in the organization tackle about money for the upcoming event of our school before he easily had a budget without any budget proposal, so I asked him that how would we knew the exact budget needed in the event if there’s no budget proposal. We started arguing about it and we end up in a good conversation. So, that’s it, that’s how I overcome it.

  8. Objections are practically normal especially in discussing a particular things that you don’t agree. I probably object when I don’t agree. I found lots of sense here and I truly learn. Thanks!

  9. Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article.Much thanks again. Want more.

Leave a Reply

