We Reflect Our Leaders

I’m coming to realize I am starting to think like my boss. We watch those in charge of us and intentionally and unintentionally start to make the same assumptions and decisions. I will often run an event or create a proposal and, in the back of my head, hear the voice of my boss giving me a pointer or direction. I’ve found that the mental checklists that I’ve created match very closely to the notes I take away from my meetings.

Most people will find the most comfortable path to get a job done. In an office environment, there are often times unspoken systems that everyone follows. It is valuable to know what those systems are and to know which skills of your leaders you want to reflect. When you know what they are, it helps you to learn to match their strengths and steer clear of areas of weakness.

It’s a good practice to think about your immediate reaction to high stress situations and conversations with people. Think about how you have traditionally responded and think about how your leaders would respond. Think through how co-workers respond to each method and evaluate which technique you want to use.

Have you found it to be true that you reflect your leaders? Do you do things similarly to your boss because you’ve worked with that person for a long period of time, or maybe because it’s the path of least resistance?

One Response to We Reflect Our Leaders

  1. Janice Chan says:

    This reminds me of a conversation I had with some friends in college about certain gestures or phrases that we picked up from each other from spending so much time together. And I never thought about it in the workplace, but now that you point it out… It seems like it would be valuable to look at the strengths and weaknesses of all the people you work with closely–not just the leaders–to see what you can learn from them. Strong teams value and utilize what each person brings to the table, not just those with “Director” or “VP” in their title.

    There is so much that we do subconsciously (i.e. the path of least resistance); it’s always great to take a step back and look at what we’re doing and why. Great suggestion, Jason!

Leave a Reply

