Informing Your Volunteers

This would have gone well with my Event Invitation Mistakes post a few weeks ago but I didn’t make this mistake until recently. We have had a number of formal prospecting sessions and I have informally added a number of casually mentioned names. Recently I sent out invitations to our prospect list. At my next volunteer committee meeting one of the members asked me if I let each board member know when I invited their connections.

In the back of my mind, I had thought once a name had been mentioned I had the freedom to prospect and invite them as much as I wanted. That is not the perspective of the donor or volunteer. These prospects are often close friends and colleagues and it should be standard practice to let our volunteers know when their connections might be receiving an invitation.

Because I made the mistake of not letting our volunteers know, I missed out on a number of opportunities for cultivation. By letting the volunteer know it provides an opportunity for them to connect with the prospect. Your volunteer can encourage them to attend the event in a more personal way, which would improve the likelihood of their attendance. If you are cultivating the prospect for a gift, letting your volunteer know provides another opportunity for your volunteer strengthen the prospects relationship with the nonprofit.

Leave a Reply

