Merry Christmas

The holidays are a time of mixed emotion for many fundraisers. For many offices the holiday season is the time of the year-end or holiday appeal, where they receive the largest number and amount of gifts. Ironically, for the first three weeks of December it is the busiest time of the year, and then for a week from about Christmas to New Years it can be the slowest.

In spite of December craziness, I find that this time of year brings us all back to our core values. At the food bank where I use to work, it was always the time of year for giving trees and hearing client stories. I think that December is a great month to talk with a few clients/students/patients and hear their story.

I’m planning on spending some time this month remembering what our work can do to make a difference for people. Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a number of opportunities to sit down with donors and clients. I’ve had some great conversations with donors about why they joined the organization and with clients about the impact of organization in their lives.

Note: I want to wish all of my readers a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. I appreciate your continued reading a great deal and love your comments and emails. Thank you!

3 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Dan Smith says:

    Merry Christmas to you too!

  2. I used to work the Christmas Day gift delivery for elderly people. In the early years, our volunteers were all Jewish, because it’s not their holiday. Then we invited the Muslims in, and finally we had 200 volunteers form nine religions, including Christians. I couldn’t understand why the Christians would come — wasn’t it their holiday? But then they explained to me that it was the Christian thing to do, and besides, once the gifts were opened, there wasn’t much to do that day. So hundreds of elderly people benefitted from a visit from a caring volunteer.

    Great column; I just wanted to add that for certain charities, the upcoming week can be very busy. I’m thinking of the Alzheimer’s Association — they get a lot of calls this week, because people visit family and realize that mom or dad has really deteriorated and needs help.

    A lot of people will work tonight and tomorrow for all of us — staff coordinating the soup kitchen volunteers, the journalists covering the nonprofit events, and the police, fire and hospital personnel who keep us all safe. If you see one of them, now’s the time to say thanks.

    Happy holidays!

  3. Jason Dick says:

    Thanks Katherine, great remarks. I’ve heard from a couple people that they have it crazy this last week of the year. A few people gave me a pretty funny look when I talked with them about having a slow last week of the year.

    I love your story about the Christmas Day delivery. Thanks, Jason

Leave a Reply

